News in Cortland NY

CRT Announces Recipients of 2015 "Pavilion Awards"

The winners for the thirteenth annual Cortland Repertory Theatre “Pavilion Awards” were announced on Monday, June 8, at the national historic Little York Pavilion, home to CRT. The awards, sponsored by First Niagara Bank, recognize outstanding achievement in local high school theatre during the 2014-15 school year.

Trophies were presented to the winners in a ceremony hosted by Producing Artistic Director Kerby Thompson and Youth Program Director Kris Valentine Behnke. Presenters included cast members of CRT’s productions of “Always a Bridesmaid” and “1776”. Each of the six nominated high schools that produced musicals - Cortland, Dryden, Groton, Homer, McGraw and Tully - performed a musical number from their production. Before the ceremony, the CRT Board and Guild hosted a reception downstairs in the Pavilion, where photos were taken of all the nominees in each category.

The student and production recipients of the awards are as followings:

Best Musical: (tie): A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum (Cortland) and Oklahoma! (Groton)

Best Play: The Crucible (Cortland)

Visual Musical Ensemble: Oklahoma! (Groton)

Vocal Musical Ensemble: Oklahoma! (Groton)

Play Ensemble: The Crucible (Cortland)

Lead Actor in a Musical: Jack Gerhard (Cortland)

Lead Actor in a Play: David Perfetti (Homer)

Lead Actress in a Musical: Brooke Jackson (Groton)

Lead Actress in a Play: (tie): Michaela Pace (Cortland) and Carolyn Zobel (Tully)

Supporting Actor in a Musical: Jason Gore (Cortland)

Supporting Actor in a Play: Jack Gerhard (Cortland)

Supporting Actress in a Musical: Helena Rankin (Groton)

Supporting Actress in a Play: Kirsten Soos (Tully)

Featured Actor in a Musical: Blake Pace (Cortland)

Featured Actor in a Play: Reed Cleland (Homer)

Featured Actress in a Musical: Jenniellen Withers (Homer)

Featured Actress in a Play: Amy Grantham (Cortland)

Technical Achievement: Jeffrey Steinhoff (McGraw)

“Rising Star” Award, recognizing students who are not yet in high school: Addy Whitener (Dryden)

Scholarships, for students continuing their education in the performing arts: Robin Baumeister (Homer), Sarah Denkenberger (Homer), Jack Gerhard (Cortland), Benjamin Mayberry (Cortland) and Michaela Pace (Cortland).

Student Written One-Act Play: “Penney: A Musical in One Act” by Jason Wright (Cortland)

“Most Valuable Player” Awards, voted by the students themselves, a winner from each production: Ben Mayberry (Cortland: One-Act Play Festival), John Ruquet (Cortland: The Crucible), tie: Jack Gerhard and Cassidy Halpin (Cortland: A Funny Thing…Forum), Laurie Tatem (Dryden: Into the Woods), Trevor Empson (Groton: Oklahoma!), Elena Gustafson (Homer: The Hollow), Robin Baumeister (Homer: Bye Bye Birdie), Andrew Niver (McGraw: Beauty and the Beast), Emma Billington (Tully: A Doll’s House), and Bernie Kelly (Tully: Once Upon a Mattress).

Special Recognition: to select graduating seniors who have shown outstanding support and dedication to their high school theatre programs: Andrew Niver (McGraw), Isabella Puente (Tully) and Trayton Tanudjaja (McGraw).