News in Cortland NY

CRT Pavilion Award Nominations

Cortland Repertory Theatre has announced the nominees for their eleventh annual “Pavilion Awards” which recognize Outstanding Achievement in local high school theatre. For the seventh year, First Niagara Bank serves as the Corporate Sponsor for this program, which allows for many categories within the musical and non-musical genres. Musicals in consideration were held at the Cortland, Dryden, Groton, Homer, McGraw and Tully High Schools. Non-musical plays were also presented at Cortland, Homer and Tully.

The nominees are as following:

Musical: Working (Cortland), Oliver! (Dryden), The Music Man (Groton), Wonderful Town (Homer), You’re a Good Man, Charlie Brown (McGraw) and My Fair Lady (Tully).

Play: The Mouse That Roared (Cortland), You Can’t Take It With You (Homer), and Clue (Tully).

Ensemble (musical): Working (Cortland), Oliver! (Dryden), The Music Man (Groton), Wonderful Town (Homer), You’re a Good Man, Charlie Brown (McGraw) and My Fair Lady (Tully).

Ensemble (play): The Mouse That Roared (Cortland), You Can’t Take It With You (Homer), and Clue (Tully).

Leading Actor in a Musical: Joel Twitchell (Groton), Josh Apker (Homer), Andrew Niver (McGraw), and Nathaniel Shahan (Tully).

Leading Actress in a Musical: Allie Young (Dryden), Brenna Hahne (Groton), Lucia Helgren (Homer), and Lauren Ralbovsky (Tully).

Leading Actor in a Play: Alex Klaes (Cortland), Alex Reynolds (Cortland), Richie Howell (Homer), and Erik Gustafson (Homer).

Leading Actress in a Play: Caitlin Little (Cortland), Lucia Helgren (Homer), and Lauren Ralbovsky (Tully).

Supporting Actor in a Musical: Jack Gerhard (Cortland), Will Hanson (Dryden), David Perfetti (Homer), and Noah Paccia (Tully).

Supporting Actress in a Musical: Emma Cleary (Cortland), Margaret Hoeschele (Cortland), Breanna Jones (Cortland), and Bethany Ellis (McGraw).

Supporting Actor in a Play: John Ruquet (Cortland), Nigel Van der Woude (Cortland), Jacob Elikins (Homer) and David Perfetti (Homer).

Supporting Actress in a Play: Kaitlyn Newman (Cortland), Sierra Wilhoit (Cortland), Lilly Gustafson (Homer), and Liz Redenback (Homer).

Featured Actor in a Musical: Dakota Hickey (Dryden), Zack Ossit (Groton), Benjamin Ackley (McGraw), and Drew Deal (Tully).

Featured Actress in a Musical: Olivia Lutwak (Dryden), Rebecca Woods (Dryden), Bailey Kote (Homer), and Kailey Riddick (McGraw).

Featured Actor in a Play: Brian Barnes (Cortland), Lukas Pizzola (Homer), Jackson Morris (Homer) and Zach Randall (Homer).

Featured Actress in a Play: Brooke Campbell (Cortland), Kaige Gailore (Homer), Jordon Green (Homer) and Tori Anderson (Homer).

Student Written One-Act Play: The 16th Hole by Y. Brian Hughes, The Ruby of Venus by Brian Barnes & Conner Beattie, Mask by Lina Apte, and Secret of the Ocean’s Depths by Iva Markicevic. All nominees are from Cortland High.

Technical Achievement: Theo Moore (Groton), David Levitskiy (McGraw), and Kiki Lee (Tully.

Theatre-As-Education: The Music Man (Groton), Wonderful Town (Homer), You’re a Good Man, Charlie Brown (McGraw) and My Fair Lady (Tully).

Also the students themselves will pick a “Most Valuable Player” from each production. This award is chosen for the person involved in the production who went above and beyond the call of duty for their show. This recognition is voted on and chosen by the cast and crews themselves; no outside judges are involved.

Scholarships are also available for graduating seniors who are pursuing higher education in the theatre arts. Members of the CRT Board of Directors Youth Programming Committee decide the recipients of these scholarships.

For the productions and acting awards, volunteer judges attended the shows. All are involved with Central New York theatre in some way, whether as a performer, technician, within the educational system or as an avid theatre-goer. In each category, the nominees who received the most votes have been selected as finalists. In the event that a judge is unable to attend a performance, the total number of points each nominee receives is divided by the number of judges attending to determine ranking. Factors such as the size of the role, number of songs, time on stage, etc. determine the category in which each actor is placed.

“This awards program focuses on creating a theatre community within the high schools in our area.” CRT Producing Director Kerby Thompson explains. “We do everything possible to not make this adversarial between the schools, but rather an experience to be shared between the school and the students. They students have been involved in something they will remember for the rest of the lives, and this award ceremony is a fun way to end the school year.”

The Pavilion Award Ceremony will be held on Monday, June 10th at 7:00 pm at the Little York Pavilion, home to CRT. The awards will be presented on the set for CRT’s first show “The Unexpected Guest” and each school will perform a musical number from their show at the ceremony. Presenters will include actors, administration and staff of the 2013 CRT summer season, as well as representatives from First Niagara Bank. The CRT Board of Directors will host a reception afterwards. Call 607-756-2627 for more information.