News in Cortland NY

CRT Announces Winners for "The Pavilion Awards"

The winners for the tenth annual Cortland Repertory Theatre “Pavilion Awards” were announced on Monday, June 11, at the national historic Little York Pavilion, home to CRT. The awards, sponsored by First Niagara Bank, recognize outstanding achievement in local high school theatre during the 2011-12 school year.

Trophies were presented to the winners in a ceremony hosted by Producing Artistic Director Kerby Thompson and Assistant Director Jim Bumgardner. Presenters included members of CRT’s first production of the summer season “The Ladies Man”. Each of the six nominated high schools that produced musicals - Cortland, Dryden, Groton, Homer, McGraw and Tully - performed a musical number from their production.

First Niagara Bank representative Sandy Sampson spoke on behalf of the corporate sponsor, acknowledging the work that the students and teachers accomplished over the year. A special presentation was made by CRT Board President John Folmer, who awarded McGraw teacher and director Michael Brownell a “Career Achievement” Award. Following the ceremony, the CRT Board and Guild hosted a reception downstairs in the Pavilion.

The student and production recipients of the awards are as following:

Best Musical: The King and I (Groton)
Best Play: Inherit the Wind (Homer)

Visual Musical Ensemble: Beauty and the Beast (Dryden)
Vocal Musical Ensemble: Jekyll and Hyde (Tully)
Play Ensemble: Inherit the Wind (Homer)

Lead Actor in a Musical: Troy Brown (Tully) – with special recognition to close second place finisher Gabe Petrella (Groton)
Lead Actor in a Play: Tom Horton (Homer) – with special recognition to close second place finishers Anthony Urda (Homer) and Drew Deal (Tully).
Lead Actress in a Musical: Jordan Twitchell (Groton)
Lead Actress in a Play: Katylyn Adams (Cortland)

Supporting Actor in a Musical: Austin Brecht (Dryden)
Supporting Actor in a Play: Jacob Elikins (Homer)
Supporting Actress in a Musical: Carolyn Crawford (Dryden) – with special recognition to close second place finishers Hannah Roos (Homer) and Lauren Ralbovsky (Tully)
Supporting Actress in a Play: Lucia Helgren (Homer)

Featured Actor in a Musical: Joel Twitchell (Groton)
Featured Actor in a Play: Jimmy McLorn (Homer)

Featured Actress in a Musical: Allie Young (Dryden)
Featured Actress in a Play: Michaela Pace (Cortland)

Technical Achievement: Dallas Butler (Homer)

Student Written One-Act Play: “The Dead Authors” by Hannah Zhang (Cortland)

CRT Scholarships: Austin Brecht (Dryden), Trevor Dewey (Tully), and Anthony Urda (Homer).

“Most Valuable Player” Awards (voted by the students, a winner from each production); Cortland: Mollie Wagner (one-act play festival), Katylyn Adams (play), Emma Cleary (musical); Dryden: Alison Schug; Groton: Gabe Petrella; Homer: Tom Horton (play), Josh Apker (musical); McGraw: Sara Dougherty; Tully: Trevor Dewey (musical), Emily Papini (play).

Theatre-As-Education Awards: Anything Goes (Homer).

Special Recognition: Wyatt Buerkle (McGraw), Elias Rivera (Cortland), and Caitlyn Troy (Cortland) for Outstanding Support and Dedication to their respective high school theatre programs over their years in school.