News in Cortland NY

CRT Announces Winners for "The Pavilion Awards"

The winners for the ninth annual Cortland Repertory Theatre “Pavilion Awards” were announced on Sunday, June 12, at the National Historic Little York Pavilion, home to CRT. The awards, sponsored by First Niagara Bank, recognize outstanding achievement in local high school theatre during the 2010-11 school year.

Trophies were presented to the winners in a ceremony hosted by Producing Artistic Director Kerby Thompson and Assistant Director Jim Bumgardner. Presenters included members of CRT’s first production of their 40th Anniversary Season, Neil Simon’s farce Rumors. Each of the six nominated high schools that produced musicals - Cortland, Dryden, Groton, Homer, McGraw and Tully - performed a musical number from their production.

First Niagara Bank representative Sandy Sampson spoke on behalf of the corporate sponsor, acknowledging the work that the students and teachers accomplished over the year. Following the ceremony, the CRT Board and Guild hosted a reception downstairs in the Pavilion.

The recipients of the awards are as followings:

Best Musical: Seussical the Musical (Dryden)

Best Play: Macbeth (Homer)

Musical Ensemble: Seussical the Musical (Dryden)

Play Ensemble: Macbeth (Homer)

Lead Actor in a Musical: Jordan Gagon (Homer)

Lead Actor in a Play: tie - Jordan Gagnon and Jacob Gagnon (Homer)

Lead Actress in a Musical: Rachel Beverly (McGraw)

Lead Actress in a Play: Hannah Lundeen (Homer)

Supporting Actor in a Musical: tie – Travis Collins (Groton) and Jonathan Honour (McGraw)

Supporting Actor in a Play: Isaac Garcia (Homer)

Supporting Actress in a Musical: Rebecca Woods (Dryden)

Supporting Actress in a Play: Lucia Helgren (Homer)

Featured Actor in a Musical: Evan Canfield (Dryden)

Featured Actor in a Play: Jacob Adams (Homer)

Featured Actress in a Musical: Chelsea Ruan (Homer)

Featured Actress in a Play: Caitlin Troy (Cortland)

Technical Achievement: Trevor Dewey (Tully)

Student Written One-Act Play: A Prayer of the Children by Demmarie Boreland (Cortland)

CRT Scholarships: Jacob Adams (Homer), Demmarie Boreland (Cortland), Andrea Montez (Cortland) and Sarah Stupke (Homer).

“Most Valuable Player” Awards (voted by the students, a winner from each production):

Cortland: Demmarie Boreland (for both the one-acts and the musical), Jack O'Donnell and Bailey Marks (tie for the play); Dryden: Emily Breedlove and Andrew Schug (tie); Groton: Matt Rhodes; Homer: Jordan Gagnon (both musical and play); McGraw: Rachel Beverly; Tully: Kelly Harris (musical), Lydia Shahan (play).

Theatre-As-Education Awards: The Sound of Music (Groton).

Special Recognition: Nick Alteri (Cortland), Julia Convertini (Cortland) and Kelly Harris (Tully) for Outstanding Support and Dedication to their respective high school theatre program.